Beaufort: Our Art Town— 21 visual artists & 20 actors

Juried artists announced; awards bestowed Friday, June 3, 6 to 8pm at a public reception at ARTworks in Beaufort Town Center. 

At ARTworks, the community arts center in Beaufort, a Beaufort-themed gallery show and sale will accompany a stage production of "Our Town" by Thornton Wilder. The show was juried by Rebecca Davenport. 43 artists submitted work, and 21 were accepted: photographers Mark Carter of Lady's Island (his photograph is pictured here), Mark Rackley of Beaufort, Scott Quarforth of Virginia, Richard Darby of Lady's Island, Tabatha Jarmulowicz of Alabama, Sandy Dimke of Seabrook, Chris Kirk of St. Helena Island; painters Sharon Reilly of Beaufort, Jerry Stocks of Beaufort, Eve Miller of St. Helena Island, Karole Turner Cambell of Charleston, Erinn Szare of Beaufort, Deanna Bowdish of Beaufort, Gina Sismilich of Lady's Island, Jean Norton-Torjussen of Beaufort, Jessica Montgomery of Michigan, Jon Goebel of Bluffton, Christopher Smalls of St. Helene Island; weaver Kim Keats of Okatie; and jewelry-makers Lynda Lydon of Okatie, and Lee Perry Bender of Beaufort  Juror and judge Rebecca Davenport is an accomplished international artist who resides in Beaufort, SC. She is most well known for her highly realistic portraits, trompe l'oiel techniques and her exquisite sense of detail. She received her BFA from Pratt Institute in NY and her MFA from the University of North Carolina. Her work can be found in many private and public collections throughout the US, including the National Museum of American Art, the Corcoran Gallery, and the National Museum of Women in the Arts. Read her comments about judging the show at  The opening reception is free to the public on June 3, from 6 - 8pm. Awards will be presented. The gallery show ends July 30, and is free to browse Tuesdays through Saturdays. The stage production of the American classic three-act "Our Town" opens Thursday, June 2, and runs through the 12th, Thursday through Saturdays at 8pm, and 3pm matinees on Sundays @ ARTworks, 2127 Boundary Street, in Beaufort SC. Thursdays are Pay-what-you-can nights; tickets are $15 per person, $10 for students (13+), $5 for children (12 and under) and $10 for groups of 10 or more, online at www.ArtWorksInBeaufort.orgThe play "Our Town" is produced jointly by the Palmetto Theater Xperiment and Misspent Youth Productions, directed by JW Rone. Cast & crew includes Gail Westerfield, Bob Herrick, Jennifer Shand, Pat Ferri, Abigail Freeman, Ben Langan, Carrie Freeman, Kim Stevens, Benji Morgan, Carol Miller, Parke Minnich, Aubrey Disbrow, Michael Bible, Travis Marshall, Daisy Nelson White, Caren Ross, Heather Szeder, Anne Errington, Chris Negron, Kay Owen, and Irby Rentz.

Filed in