Crazyhorse literary journal awarded grant to publicize E-Book

Image by Crazyhorse

Crazyhorse, the literary journal published at the College of Charleston, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts grant that will fund promotion of the journal’s new online e-book version.

Here's more from the press release we just received:

“Crazyhorse is one of the first literary journals to go hybrid, available as a print book and online in e-book format,” Garrett Doherty, Crazyhorse editor says. “The online e-book version is essential for attracting today’s new students and readers of literature since, more and more, reading is instant and on-demand through the web. The work of the teams of students, guest editors, and faculty editors who help create Crazyhorse, as well as the writing selected for the Best American Short Stories and Poetry anthologies, is all immediately available online.”

The $7,500 Access to Artistic Excellence grant will expand Crazyhorse’s audience, as it is now available readily to online readers. E-book subscription prices are $8 for one year, $16 for two years and $24 for three years. Editors are also working on creating Crazyhorse for iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader and Droid.

This grant joins the 2009, 2008, 2006, and 2005 NEA grants awarded to Crazyhorse.

For more information, contact Garrett Doherty at 843.953.7740.

About Crazyhorse

Crazyhorse's mission is to publish the entire spectrum of today’s fiction, essays, and poetry—from the mainstream to the avant-garde, from the established to the undiscovered writer. Founded in 1960 by the poet Tom McGrath, the journal has been in continuous publication for the last forty-three years. Printed two times a year, Crazyhorse has published some of the most important writers of the last half century, including John Updike, Raymond Carver, Jorie Graham, John Ashbery, Robert Bly, Ha Jin, W. P. Kinsella, Richard Wilbur, James Wright, Carolyn Forché, Charles Simic, Charles Wright, Billy Collins, Galway Kinnell, James Tate, and Franz Wright, to name only a few. In the pages, you’ll find some of the finest writing being published today: Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winners, Guggenheim fellows, NEA fellowship recipients, and authors with awards from the O. Henry Prize, Pushcart Prize, and Best American anthologies.