Charleston Battery facing off against Wilmington in home USL PRO Championship

Image by Charleston Battery Forward Nicki Paterson and Jose Cuevas named to USL PRO All-League First Team. Cuevas scored 7 goals and added 5 assists in 27 games played.

Update: The Battery has taken the title.

After theĀ Charleston Battery defeated the Rochester Rhinos in a dramatic penalty shootout last weekend the team is gearing up to host the USL PRO game at home this Saturday night, September 8.

The team will take on the Wilmington Hammerheads at Blackbaud Stadium in the 2012 USL PRO Championship match; gates open at 6 with kick off set for 7:30. The Battery advanced to the title game via a dramatic semifinal win versus the Rochester Rhinos in a game played last Friday night in Rochester.

Tickets for Saturday's match are on sale now starting at just $10; to purchase tickets or for more information please call (843) 971-GOAL (4625) or visit Saturday's match will be broadcast live on; there will be no local radio coverage for this game.

Trailing the Rhinos 1-0 in stoppage time at the end of regulation former Rochester midfielder Tony Donatelli scored a late headed goal to send the match into overtime. With neither side able to break the deadlock the game was decided via a penalty shoot-out. Battery forward JC Mack scored the winning goal in the seventh round of penalties to propel Charleston into the Championship game.

The victory was the Battery's first win in a playoff match in Rochester in a rivalry that extends back to the 1998 season.

The Wilmington Hammerheads advanced to the Championship game by dispatching the number one seed Orlando City Lions 4-3 on Friday night in Orlando. Wilmington jumped out to a 3-0 lead and despite having defender Dylan Riley sent off in the 64th minute managed to repel a late Orlando fight-back.

The Battery and the Hammerheads played three games during the regular season with one win apiece and one tie. This is the first time that the two Clubs' have met in a post-season game.

Saturday's match marks the fourth time that the Charleston Battery has hosted a USL Championship. The Battery won USL Championships in 1996 (at Stoney Field), 2003 and 2010.