Myrtle Beach Area Golf Course Owners Association announce the Dunes Club as the 2012 'Course of the Year'

Flickr User: m.sobota

The Dunes Golf and Beach Club has won 2012 “Course of the Year” from a vote of the Myrtle Beach Area Golf Course Owners Association membership. Jack Himmelsbach, Association president, made the announcement at the July meeting. 

The Dunes Club, which edged out the Barefoot Resort Dye Club for the award, will advance to state competition, where it will make a presentation along with four other courses from different regions within the state. The “Course of the Year” for South Carolina will be announced in mid-August.
“This was the most competitive vote in the 15-year history of this award, with submissions from two of the area’s premier courses,” said George Hilliard, Association executive director. “Both courses contribute immensely to the wonderful experience that makes Myrtle Beach such a popular golf vacation destination. Clearly, we have a very deserving representative.”
Among the significant historical contributions for each, the Dunes Club previously hosted the PGA Senior Tour Championship for six years in the 1990s while the Barefoot Resort Dye Club has hosted Hootie and the Blowfish “Monday After The Masters” for the last 10 years.
“We are thrilled to be recognized as Course of the Year in the Myrtle Beach area,” said Dennis Nicholl, Dunes Club head professional. “To be selected from among so many fine golf courses in this area is truly an honor. We look forward to representing the Myrtle Beach golf industry as we advance to the state and national levels.”
The Dunes Club is a Robert Trent Jones Sr. layout of 7,195 yards that has consistently been named one of the nation’s “Top 100 Courses” by Golf Magazine, Golf Digest and Golfweek. The famed 13th hole, known as “Waterloo,” has been selected by Golf Digest as one of the “Best 18 Holes in America.” Most recently, Golfweek ranked The Dunes Club the fifth “Best Course You Can Play” in South Carolina for 2012.
Each of the state winners from across the across the country will advance to the national competition, with the winner to be announced in February in San Diego in conjunction with the National Golf Course Owners Association annual conference.

Filed in