Several Beaufort County schools receive awards in Healthier US School Challenge

Flickr user wbur

According to a news release from the Beaufort County School District nearly every school in the district has been granted an award under a USDA effort to make school meals healthier.

Here's the release from the district:

According to Superintendent Valerie Truesdale, “Beaufort County has been aggressive in the healthy schools initiative.  We partnered with Sodexo, our food service contractor, to revise menus to promote healthier choices in school breakfasts and lunches, eliminating fried foods.  We have hosted the Eat Smart, Move More regional conference, we measure students’ body mass index (BMI), we pursue fresh fruits and vegetables grants, and we have eliminated high caloric items in vending machines.  At some schools, we have walking clubs and fitness trains.  This recognition by the US Department of Agriculture in naming 29 schools as USHealthier School Challenge award recipients is an indicator of the importance of fitness and wellness in Beaufort County schools.  We are very proud of the partnerships that support the healthy schools initiative.”

The Healthier US School Challenge sponsored by the USDA’s, Food and Nutrition Services Division is open to all schools participating in the National School Lunch Program.  To be named a winner, schools had to achieve a specific standard of excellence in 10 areas of nutrition and physical wellness ranging from meal planning, portion size and nutrition education to physical education and school policy on health and wellness.  Award winning schools receive monetary awards, totaling $17,500 to the district.  Application for the awards was supported by Sodexo partners Larry Wilson and ­­­­­Donna Brazil who lead food services with Beaufort County School District.


Award winning Beaufort County Schools include:

Gold Award Winners:  Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary and Shell Point Elementary

Silver Award Winners:  Mossy Oaks Elementary and Port Royal Elementary

Bronze Award Winners:  All five high schools at Battery Creek, Beaufort, Bluffton, Hilton Head, and Whale Branch Early College High Schools;

Beaufort Middle, Bluffton Middle, HE McCracken Middle,  Hilton Head Island Middle, Lady’s Island Middle, Robert Smalls Middle, and Whale Branch Middle Schools;

Beaufort Elementary, Bluffton Elementary, Broad River Elementary, Coosa Elementary, Hilton Head Island Elementary, Hilton Head Island School for the Creative Arts, Lady’s Island Elementary,  Michael C. Riley Elementary, Okatie Elementary, Pritchardville Elementary, Red Cedar Elementary, St. Helena Elementary,  and Whale Branch Elementary.

Filed in