A salute to education

Today the Conway Chamber of Commerce honored outstanding seniors from area high school in their Salute To Education Awards luncheon.

Held at the Kline Hospitality Suite of Brooks Stadium on the campus of Coastal Carolina University, the Salute to Education was a special day of recognition for ten local area high school seniors. Picked by the Educational Affairs Committee, these students exemplified outstanding academic qualities. Additionally, each student recognized their "most inspirational teacher" and presented them with an award of thanks and gratitude.

By showing the work that each student was able to achieve alongside the teachers who inspired them, the Salute to Education Awards struck a chord with all members present – a true showcase the importance of education within our community.

Below is a list of the recipients in each category.

Salute To Education Outstanding High School Seniors

  • Dhruvkumar Prakashkumar Patel - Aynor High School
  • Catherine Faye Goodwin - Carolina Forest High School
  • Andrea E. Wright - Conway Christian School
  • Danielle Nicole Ludlam - Conway High School
  • Savanna C. Strickland - Green Sea Floyds High School
  • Alston Elizabeth James - Loris High School
  • Julianna Martel - Myrtle Beach High School
  • Sydney Orwig - North Myrtle Beach High School
  • Andrew Scott Mai - Socastee High School
  • Yessence Lewis - St. James High School

Salute To Education Most Inspirational Teachers

  • Patsy Windham - Aynor High School
  • Ruthie Warren - Carolina Forest High School 
  • Roy Kosin - Conway Christian School
  • Dr. T Nirenstein - Conway High School
  • Robin Donaldson - Green Sea Floyds High School
  • Dr. Danny McPherson - Loris High School
  • Chet Threatt - North Myrtle Beach High School
  • Tyson Smith - Socastee High School
  • Carolina Ross - St. James High School


Filed in