ATOMACON: Charleston's First 3 day Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Science and Tech Convention

This November 8 to 10, ATOMACON will be the Charleston Area’s first 3 day, multi-genre sci-fi, fantasy, and science and technology convention.

The event will be held at the InnPlace Hotel (formally Sheraton Airport Hotel).

This year’s convention features Author Guest of Honor: Jack McDevitt.  Mr. McDevitt is a Nebula Award Winning author of over 20 novels. Our Science Guest of Honor is Les Johnson. Mr. Johnson is the Deputy Manager for the Advanced Concepts Office at the NASA George C. Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, as well as an accomplished novelist, movie consultant, and has made many appearances on National Geographic and Science Channel programs.  Also appearing are authors, artists and craftsman, musical guests, dancers, comedians, costumers, make-up artists, scientist, filmmakers and the fan created Ghostbusters Car-Ecto 1, R2D2, and TARDIS. The convention will also feature a charity auction to benefit the MUSC Children’s Hospital and Charleston Animal Society, Costume Contest, Vendor’s room, and over 130 hours of workshops, discussion panels, movie screenings, and interactive events.

Three day convention memberships until October 15, 2013 are $35 adults, $20 teens 13-18, and children 12 and under are free with a paying adult.  At the door rates will be $40, $20 and free. Group rates are available for 10 or more memberships.

ATOMACON, Inc. ( is a nonprofit educational corporation dedicated to creating awareness of, and appreciation for science fiction, fantasy, and science through related literary and other popular art forms. This is accomplished primarily through a convention to celebrate the history of and on-going contribution of science fiction, fantasy, science and related genres to art and popular culture.

This project was funded in part by the City of Charleston Office of Cultural Affairs and the City of North Charleston Cultural Arts Program through their joint administration of the Lowcountry Quarterly Arts Grant Program and the South Carolina Arts Commission which receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts and the John and Susan Bennett Memorial Arts Fund of the Coastal Community Foundation of SC.

Contact information:  Janet Iannantuono-Chairperson