Basketball: Inaugural Charleston Classic at Carolina First Center

Image by 20081106-charleston-classic.jpg

The Inaugural Charleston Classic tournament will be the first set of games played at the College of Charleston's new Carolina First Center.

The three-day 2008 Charleston Classic includes eight teams: College of Charleston, Clemson, East Tennessee State, Hofstra, Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, Temple, TCU and Western Michigan. Two of the teams, Clemson and Temple, played in the 2007-08 NCAA Tournament.

The tournament runs from Friday, November 14, through Sunday. Tickets can be bought to all 12 games for $150, or "single-session" tickets (two games) can be bought for $30.

You can get the full schedule and learn more about the tournament on their Web site.

Update November 14: The Post and Courier has a story talking about the significance of the new stadium and its opening night.

And, don't forget, there's a community open house at the new arena on Tuesday, November 18.